Firefighting I & II

Registration for our August class is now closed.  If you wish to be added to the waitlist for our January class, please click the link below.

Make a Payment:

Payments can be made in full or in quarter increments.

Please fill out this short form to indicate whether you would like to receive early notification of registration for the January 2019 Firefighting I & II course.


297 Hours Of Fire Training
Includes 16 Hour Emergency Vehicle Driving Course, and 4 Hours of Life Safety Initiatives 

Course Description
This course consists of 297 hours of classroom and hands-on training from the IFSTA Sixth Edition book covering all aspects of firefighting including live fire training.  Throughout this course, you will learn about engine and ladder company operations, building construction, fire behavior, fire prevention, sprinkler systems, communications, fire attack, and much more. Included in the 301 hour course is a 16 hour Emergency Vehicle Driving Course and 4 hours of Firefighter Life Safety Initiatives. 

This course meets and exceeds the NFPA 1001 Standards of fire training and leads to the highest level of fire certification in the State of Ohio including “Pro-Board Certification”.  The student will also obtain HAZ/MAT training and certification at the Awareness and Operations level.  Upon completion of this course, individuals will be required to pass all practical testing and successfully pass an on-line test for the State of Ohio, Department of Public Safety.  This test is proctored and administered at our facility.  This training is the minimum training to become a full-time firefighter.

Admission Requirements for the Firefighting I & II Program
Prior to enrollment in a fire training program, you must meet the following requirements:

1.  A copy of a high school diploma or high school academic transcript or GED

2.  Have not been convicted of, pled guilty to, or had a judicial finding of guilt for any of the following:

  • Fraud or material deception in applying for, or obtaining, a certificate issued in accordance with OAC 4765-11-03 (A) (16) and 4765-11-03 (A) (17);
  • A felony;
  • A misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;
  • A violation of any federal, state, county, or municipal narcotics law;
  • Any act committed in another state, that if committed in Ohio, would constitute a violation set forth in this paragraph

​ 3.  Facial hair must comply with OSHA regulations for a respirator (no beard).

 4.  Must provide medical release signed by a physician or provide evidence of a satisfactory physical exam performed within the past (1) year.

 5.  Have a valid driver's license.

 6.  Provide NFPA approved turnout gear. You are to bring gear to every class. The Program Coordinator will provide more information about obtaining turnout gear. 

 7Complete the ACT WorkKeys tests: Applied Math, Graphic Literacy, and Workplace Documents. A score of three (3) or higher is required on each test. Appeals to this rule may be sent to the Director of Adult Operations.

8.  Individuals should be in good physical condition and obtain a current (within 12 months) physical from a physician.  The physician release form will be emailed to you once you have registered for the class. 

Tuition
$2,500.00

  • Includes breathing apparatus
  • $625.00 minimum deposit to apply for this course

Does not include books or SCBA. (Fire Gear is needed and can be rented from an outside agent.  You may use your own fire gear as long as it meets NFPA Standards.)  Books are not included in tuition.

A deposit of $625.00 (one-quarter of the full tuition) is required before the registration will be accepted. The amount of your deposit will be deducted from your total balance due. Once the deposit is paid, you will receive your acceptance letter that contains additional class information. Deposits must be turned in no later than one week prior to the start of the course. Accepted registrations are on a first come, first serve basis. Seats are limited to the first 25 students.

This course does qualify for the United States Department of Veterans Affairs GI Bill. For more information on the GI Bill, please contact us at 740-201-3222.

DACC is a chartered facility through the Ohio Department of Public Safety and is also an accredited program. Firefighting I & II students who successfully complete this course will have earned college credits which are also transferrable towards additional education.

Class | Important Dates:

August 16, 2018 - December 15, 2018

Cost $2,500

Tuesdays & Thursdays, 5:45 p.m. - 10:15 p.m.
Saturdays, 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
1610 State Route 521, Delaware, OH 43015

Required Workkeys testing will be held July 31st or August 8th at 5:30 p.m. at our North Campus.  In order to secure your seat in the class, you must complete your registration for Workkeys and pay the requisite fee. (If you have taken the Workkeys within the past 12 months, you do NOT need to retake them.  Just notify Dee Ice of the date you wish to complete your paperwork at IceD@DelawareAreaCC.Org).  Registration for Workkeys ONLY can be completed HERE. Registration for the class is done on the link at the top of this page.

 

If you have specific questions about the class or curriculum, please contact Matt Scarbury at ScarburyM@DelawareAreaCC.org